June 16, 2015

The One That Got Away

"I remembered when you said that one man's desperate is another man's persistent." ~ pg. 313

New authors excite me. Debut novels are usually some of the best stories. All it takes is a book cover that catches my attention or a blurb from one of my faves for me to read a book by an author new to me. Such is the case for The One That Got Away. Emily Giffin calls it "a warm, witty, and wise novel." Taylor Jenkins-Reid says this love story is "perfectly balanced between sexy and sweet, and settings so vivid and hip they feel like a literary Pinterest board." Goodreads suggests it is perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner. With endorsements like these, I didn't hesitate to pick up a paperback copy of The One That Got Away. I fixed myself a cup of Earl Grey tea, opened my blinds for the right amount of natural sunlight and began reading.

Sarina Mahler has a growing architecture practice and a loving boyfriend, Noah, who is ready to propose any day now. While Noah is on a temporary assignment abroad, an old flame named Eamon Roy comes back to town and requests Sarina's business services. She is careful not to mix business with pleasure but working with him reminds her of why she was first attracted to him back in the day. Like most novels of this genre, a tragedy occurs leaving Sarina to question what she really wants in life and in love.

Love is complicated. We all know this. It is a common theme in chick lit. But a conflicted heart is a deeper different story. With bits of humor and a likable main character, I was all into The One That Got Away. Flipping the pages continuously until there were no more to turn. I heart a well paced story with an engaging heroine.

Bookhearts, this is a great pool read. Book clubs, The One That Got Away is a great summer selection. There are discussion questions at the end of the book for your convenience. The author is also willing to join your book club discussion via webcam. Be sure to visit her website for contact information and freebies.

Bethany Chase, you are now on my chick lit radar.

Title: The One That Got Away
Author: Bethany Chase
Published: March 2015
Pages: 314
Edition: Paperback
Challenge: New Author
Rating: ♥♥♥♥


No comments:

Post a Comment