February 17, 2016

Try Not to Breathe

"I'm asleep more than I'm awake these days." ~ pg. 286

Alex Dale is taking one day at a time. Recovering from a rocky past and destructive habits, she tries to regain control of her life. She suddenly feels she has purpose when she discovers Amy Stevenson, a girl from a nearby town who was assaulted and has been in a coma for fifteen years. Unbeknownst to doctors, Amy is conscious but paralyzed. Every day is spent reliving the past.

Alex begins to interview people connected to the attack trying to solve a crime where the only true witness cannot testify. Sounds like a really good tale, right?

This book was recommended for fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins. That would be me! So I spent a couple evenings reading Try Not to Breathe and fully expected to not breathe in between chapters. I tend to hold my breath when reading/watching something really suspenseful. Unfortunately, I never skipped a breath. But it was still a good book with a good concept and a good level of suspense. It would translate even better on the big screen. Kudos to this debut author!

Try Not to Breathe will be published on February 23, 2016. Try reading this psycho suspense.

Disclaimer: This book was received directly from the publisher for review purposes only. In no way does it influence my review. The opinions I have expressed are honestly my own and would be the same if I spent my hard-earned coins.

Title: Try Not to Breathe
Author: Holly Seddon
Published: February 2016
Pages: 323
Edition: Galley
Rating: ♥♥♥


No comments:

Post a Comment